To own a library

I was the type of child that would stay awake after my parents had gone to bed, switch on my light and keep reading my book until fajr. I was the type of girlfriend who’s perfect date would be a trip to a charity shop or second hand book shop. And I’m the type of friend people buy books for their birthday.

Everyone would ask me why I didn’t just use the local library. And the truth is I did. But I still wanted to buy books that I could call my own and keep forever. And sometimes, if I really liked a story, I would buy the book even after reading it.

The reason: I want to own a library. 

I dreamed of a room with nothing but a comfy chair besides a wide window overlooking the city skyline and books. Books from wall to wall, ceiling to floor. I would be Elinor Loredan (Inkheart) – but with more people skills. I now realise this is highly unrealistic given rent prices in London. But a girl can dream, and so I do.

A few weeks ago, knowing the long break that lies ahead, I asked my Facebook friends for summer reading recommendations. Here are the ones I plan to purchase:

  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • Can Non-Europeans Think? by Hamid dabashi
  • Agenda to Change by Hamza Yusuf and Zaid Shakir
  • The Color Purple by Alice Walker
  • Assata An Autobiography by Assata Shakur
  • The Rebellious Life of Mrs Rosa Parks by Jeane Theoharis
  • If I am not for Myself: The autobiography of a non-Zionist Jew by Mike Marqusee

If you have any recommendations – please share! I basically read anything except classics (I’ve tried, I just can’t get into it).

Over the course of my studies I found less and less time to actually read for pleasure. To be honest there was barely any time to read for work. But I’d continue to buy one here and there, mostly second hand when the price was too good to resist.

Today I started to tidy my books cupboard – a biannual task I do at the beginning of each long holiday. Side note, how does a cupboard become so messy? Each time I tidy it I feel like it’ll stay this way forever but come a few more months and it looks like it’s never been tidied before. Anyway, I came across a whole load of books I had forgotten I had even purchased.

img_9620

The forgotten tower of books.

(I own all the A Song of Ice and Fire books but didn’t want to get them out of their box to pile them up.)

So I’ll add them to my summer reading list, which has fast turned into my annual reading list!

What’s on your summer reading list? 

7 thoughts on “To own a library

  1. This was my dream too! I absolutely love books and all I wanted in life when I was younger was to be a librarian and have a library the size of the one in Beauty and the Beast all to myself! Sadly, none of those have happened yet but there’s still time for dreaming (and accomplishing)!

    A personal favourite of mine, which I recommend to everyone is In Watermelon Sugar.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You know I have a very strange relationship to books. I never was the one to just sit down and read a book like my sister, but as I grow older, I have become more fascinated by books. I can’t say that I have anything on my summer reading list though. Such a shame but it is true. I do hope you enjoy all the books you’ll be reading however! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is me! I always been in love with books and reading. And I dream of having my own library in my own home one day too. I don’t care if all the shelves are from floor to ceiling. Whatever be the size of the room, it just has to be filled with books. Every corner, every crevice will be stuffed with books. And I need the comfiest, coziest couch imaginable in there, along with a dark brown wooden chair and a table with lots of drawers by the window which hopefully opens to a view of the ocean 😀

    Ahh, my to-read list keeps on increasing day by day. I’m on Goodreads, so I spend hours browsing titles, reading blurbs and adding books to my virtual shelves. Right now, I’m reading “The Bell Jar” by Sylvia Plath. Before this, I read “Atonement” by Ian McEwan and I would definitely recommend it. That book broke me. And I couldn’t think about anything else for at least a week. After this, I’m planning to read “The Readers of the Broken Wheel Recommend” by Katarina Bivald because I won it in a giveaway, and I never ever win anything, and I want to review it as a thank you. I would recommend all of Khaled Hosseini’s novels, although I’m guessing you must’ve already read them, “Persepolis” which is a graphic novel by Marjane Satrapi, “The Class” by Erich Segal and “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak.

    Happy reading 🙂

    Like

    • We can dream! I hope they do come true! See I did, growing up, want a view of the ocean, but I came to realise that would mean I would need to LIVE near the ocean and I now can’t imaging moving out of London – I’m too much of a city girl now.

      Thank you so much for the recommendations. Will check them out, and yes I have read all the Khaled Hosseini books. I actually didn’t love the Kiterunner as much as other people did, and found my favourite to be “A thousand splendid suns” followed by – very closely by – “and the mountains echoed”. Maybe I wasn’t in the right mood to read it because a lot of my friends said “the kite runner” is their fav.

      Like

Leave a Reply

