First Date: the pre-nerves

I’m going on my first date since the big break up. I haven’t really blogged about it before but I mention both him and the new guy here. This is the guy who I said isn’t the perfect someone because the initial attraction just wasn’t there. Since then we’ve bumped into each other a few times – we have a tonne of mutal friends – so I learnt a little more about him. He’s actually a pretty awesome guy but also very humble. So we’ve decided to give it a go.

I’ve never been on a date before. My ex is the only person I have ever been with and we were good friends before he asked me out, so there wasn’t any awkward getting to know each other period. So, naturally, I’m feeling super nervous. 

The worst thing is I don’t know what I want to find out. And so I have no idea what questions to ask. My family is useless – my mum wants me to find out which village his parents are from (I have no interest in this whatsoever!), my sister wants me to find out his views on women (which I’m interested in but I don’t know how to find out without literally asking if he’s a feminist and judging his response there) and my little brother just wants me to find out if he drives (hoping to have a brother-in-law who can teach him how to drive).

Dressing was also another headache. I don’t want to look like I made too much effort but at the same time look like I didn’t care at all. The delicate balance of looking super cool and confident – something I’m not sure I’ve achieved.

My worst fear is us both sitting there in silence! I know he’s pretty laid back and more introverted. I’m hoping conversation will naturally flow! Stay tuned for updates.

What is the worse date you’ve ever been on? Any suggestive questions I can ask? 

6 thoughts on “First Date: the pre-nerves

Leave a Reply

