Ramadan dairy: day 1

For the last four years I have been unable to spend the whole of Ramadan with my family. Something always seems to pop up at the last minute.

One of the reasons I look so forward to this time – aside for the boost in faith and time to reflect – is how close we get as a family. Everyone eats together and prays together, something we never do throughout the year as we all have different schedules. I am very close to my family anyway but this time just to sit on the floor together, joking around whilst we wait for the Azaan is priceless.

But once again, I’m having to break my fasts alone. This time because I have been placed in another city for work. (I’ve been in London since January, eager to get out but there were no projects. How typical one comes along as soon as Ramadan is here).

Luckily I do have a friend here so I won’t be totally alone. And since she is also away from her family, we can keep each other company.

I did some thinking on my targets this year, and later on tonight I will look back on what my targets for last year. I wonder if I have improved at all? I do not think I have considering this year has been a very testing one in terms of practising my faith. But that is precisely what I love about this month – renewed intentions and a chance to try again.

For those of you who are fasting, what are your goals for this month? 

Abu Huraira related that the Prophet said: Allah the Majestic and Exalted said: “Every deed of man will receive ten to 700 times reward, except Siyam (fasting), for it is for Me and I shall reward it (as I like). There are two occasions of joy for one who fasts: one when he breaks the fast and the other when he will meet his Lord” (Muslim)

Leave a Reply

