Sticks and stones may break my bones but your words cut me deeper

I was going through my notes on my phone, deleting things that don’t mean anything anymore. And then across a note I had last updated in 19th January 2013. They contain the words of my ex. Words he would say whilst we were arguing. And I’d write them down so I would not go back to him but like a fool I always did. Even after all those years they still hurt and I’m so disappointed in myself for staying with it for so long.

Finally those words are deleted out of my life. And slowly but surely I am deleting the memorise of him out too.

Once a whore always a whore

Your tears don’t mean shit to me. You look pathetic when you cry

You’re such a pathetic little shit

What I said, ok it was wrong, but see how angry YOU make me?

Don’t call me again or I’ll chuck my phone in your face

Me: I love you

You: Whatever, bye

8 thoughts on “Sticks and stones may break my bones but your words cut me deeper

  1. It takes a lot of strength to disentangle yourself from the terrible mind games involved in abusive relationships. That you are out is a terrific accomplishment. The amount of time it took you to get where you are is a measure of the daunting nature of the task, not your ability or worth. You survived, so it’s a job well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For “like a fool” you could substitute “like someone brainwashed by years of exposure to damaging messages about love and romance and one’s worth as a person.” Just a thought. Glad you’re out of that painful place and away from that jerk.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

