Dear future me 

In just a few days I will enter a world I don’t know. The corporate world. And I’m terrified. Frightened of the place, the people, the money, but more so of what I could become. So here’s a reminder to future me, for the times the present me is not so familiar anymore.

Be You

You’re adaptable. You’ve been able to fit in your whole life, being in but feeling out. But you’ve found who you are now. Know the world you’re entering and know that it is not you. So when you’re trying to mix in, don’t forget how happy you felt to find your cause and faith, how much you care and how important your values are to you.

Be Brave

When people tell me women can’t do it right.

You have been leading a whole organisation for a year, you have the grades, you got in. You have just as much right to be there as anyone else. Don’t let anyone make you feel otherwise. Call them out, be the one changing the game, be brave.

Be Selfish

You love working. You dive in, rarely saying no. And that’s ok. Because that’s what makes you, you. But think about the value of your time. When you stay up late at night, wake up early in the morning, meet in the weekends, stay over on floors – it’s because you’re working for a cause. So think about the end goal. If it’s not for the betterment of what you believe in then it can wait until you’re back at work. Focus your energy on your dreams, on your community or on yourself. That’s worth your time.


This is everything you’ve been working for your whole life. But you know more than anyone how dreams and plans can change. Take chances to develop yourself – be that with training from the company, with voluntary work, new friendships or through YouTube. There are no next steps now, it’s up to you to keep building and maintaining.

When I dare to be powerful, to use my strength in the service of my vision, then it becomes less and less important whether I am afraid. – Audre Lorde

6 thoughts on “Dear future me 

  1. Congratulations on your new role! In regards to your “be selfish point” I’ve always strongly believed in the Motto “work to live, don’t live to work” I know I got bills to pay but I have life to live. What’s the point if you can’t enjoy the outcome?

    Like

Leave a Reply

